Condensed Milk Slice

Yesterday I was on the hunt for a recipe that would make something yummy, but that I didn’t need to get much from the supermarket to make.

All I needed to buy in the end was the condensed milk and malt biscuits.  Though normally it’s made with coconut, I forgot I didn’t have any!  Instead I substituted with cornflakes, which actually works really well!  You could also substitute peanuts with any other kind of nuts, and add dried fruit if you want.  This slice, I think, tastes quite similar to a snickers bar.

What you need:

1 packet (250g) malt biscuits
110g butter, melted
1 1/2 cups dark chocolate chips or pieces
1 1/4 cups shredded coconut (I used cornflakes)
1 1/4 cups chopped peanuts
400g can sweetened condensed milk

Preheat oven to 18oC and line a 30 x 25cm tray.

1.  Crush biscuits in a food processor, and add melted butter.  Mix well, then press into tray.  I ended up using more butter than this, but I made the mistake of using cheap malt biscuits.  Adjust as you need to.

2.  Chop chocolate (I used Whittakers dark) and peanuts.  Spread chocolate, coconut (or cornflakes) and peanuts over the base.

3.  Pour condensed milk evenly over the slice

Bake for approximately 25mins.  The condensed milk will start to get brown and firm up.  Cool and cut into slice.

I will definitely be making this again!  I actually halved the mixture, but it only made about 8 slices.  Saving the left over condensed milk to make a caramel slice! (Coming soon…)

Leave a Reply

