Cookies and Cream Cupcakes

The other day, I decided Cookies and Cream cupcakes were to be my next thing to bake.  It just so happened that I’m going away tomorrow to visit with a couple of people, and one of them just happened to have had her birthday not long ago.  I was a bit (a lot) slack and didn’t send a present, so offered to make birthday cupcakes!

I’m going to post the recipe, but if you have you’re own basic cupcake mix, USE THAT!  The cupcake batter itself I wasn’t so impressed with, it tastes fine, but I still think I’d prefer a ‘good’ one.

What you need…

For the cupcakes:
16 Oreos halved (with cream filling attached to one)
2¼ cups all-purpose flour
1 tsp. baking powder
115g butter, at room temperature
1 cup sugar
2 large eggs
2 tsp. vanilla extract
1 cup milk

For the icing:
125g cream cheese, at room temperature
90g unsalted butter, at room temperature
1 tbsp vanilla extract
4 cups icing sugar, sifted
2 tbsp cream

1.  Pull the oreos in half (so you end up with 2 biscuits, with cream on one of them).  Place the half oreo with cream filling into each of your cupcake papers, cream side up.  It will be a surprise cupcake base for those who are lucky enough to get one!

2.  Combine flour, and baking powder in a bowl, and whisk.  This saves you from having to sift 🙂

3.  In another bowl (large), cream butter and sugar, then add eggs, one at a time.  Mix well after each addition.  Add vanilla and mix again.

4.  Add half of the flour mixture into the egg mixture, and mix until combined.

5.  Add milk, mix until combined.  Then add in the remaining flour mixture, being careful not to overmix.

6.  Break up the non-creamed halves of your oreos, left over from step 1.  Add them into your mixture, and combine.  I used my hand for that part, which mixed them in really quickly, without playing with the mixture too much.  If you have more oreos, put them in too!  It could do with a few more in the batter.

7.  Bake on 180C for 15 – 20 mins, until they spring back when touched.

 

For the icing, don’t be too fussy!  I just chucked it all in a bowl, then beat it until smooth.  It took about 5 mins, but my cream cheese and butter was cold, straight from the fridge.  Decorate as you see fit!  I wanted half oreos on top of each cupcake, but they just fell apart when I tried to cut them!

My icing didn’t turn out quite as I wanted… if you decide to try this recipe, put the icing in the fridge for a while to firm up.  I knew it was too soft, but I was impatient!

For the larger cupcakes, I used a star tip (no.28), and metallic high tea cupcake papers.  For the mini ones, I just used a silicone mould, and a round tip (no.12) to pipe on the icing.

Also, I made 14 cupcakes, and about 8 mini ones.  Just because I wanted to get them all cooked at once, and only had one cupcake tray.

Actually, what would be really great is my white chocolate mud cupcakes instead of a normal cupcake mixture!  I’ll have to try that next time!

Recipe adapted from http://www.annies-eats.com

One thought on “Cookies and Cream Cupcakes

  1. Pingback: Cupcakes Part 2 « Torte

Leave a Reply

