Chocolate Coconut Clusters

We just moved house this weekend, and when organising the pantry at our new house, I discovered that I’ve been hoarding coconut…. 3 bags unopened or almost full, one bag almost empty.  I’m not a big fan of coconut, and often leave it out of recipes unless it’s compulsory.  I must have been buying new bags every time I had to make Cookie Monster cupcakes, thinking I was about to run out (I do have a stash of blue coloured coconut elsewhere in the pantry!)

Image

So I decided to test out my new oven with some baking last night, and to use up some of my coconut.  I did think Anzac biscuits for a while, but it doesn’t use very much.  I remember my dad used to make coconut cluster biscuits back when I lived at home, I’m guessing it was an Edmonds recipe, but I can’t remember where my book has gone during the shift so had to make them a bit differently.

Image

What you need:

165g butter, melted
½ cup brown sugar, packed
½ cup white sugar
1 large egg
½ tsp vanilla extract
1 3/4 cups flour
2 tsp baking powder
4 and ½ TB cocoa powder
1 cup coconut

Method:

1. Mix slightly cooled, melted butter with brown and white sugar.  Add egg and vanilla.

2. Add dry ingredients and mix until combined.

3. Roll mixture into balls and place on 2 baking trays, bake for 15mins at 180C.  Makes approx 18.

I think I remember my dad icing these biscuits, and they did need a little ‘something’, so I melted some Whittaker’s dark chocolate and spread on the top.

Now, what shall I do with the rest of my coconut!?

Image

3 thoughts on “Chocolate Coconut Clusters

    • Glad you like them. I froze half the recipe to bake when my dad is here next. Now, I still have 3 bags of coconut to get through… and I’ve just found 2 more bags of walnuts too!

  1. Pingback: Chocolate Coconut Clusters | MOMMA'S RECIPES

Leave a Reply

