Mini M&M Pinata Cupcakes

Image

M&Ms (especially mini!), are pretty high up there on my list for sweet treats.  When we lived in Taupo nobody seemed to stock mini M&Ms, but luckily everyone in Hawkes Bay seems to understand that they’re good and should be for sale.  I’m one of those strange people that likes to eat them by colour.  My husband has indulged my strange obsession from time to time, so we sit with a bowl and he asks, “what colour next?”

What’s the order?  I’m glad you asked!

ImageWith my cupcake corer still sitting around from Valentine’s Day I decided that mini M&Ms and cupcakes would be fab, so here is my perfect vanilla cupacke recipe which is perfect and vanillary without being too buttery.

Vanilla Cupcakes

110g softened butter
1 Cup Sugar
2 Eggs
1 tsp vanilla extract
1 1/2 Cups Flour
1/2 tsp baking powder
1/2 Cup warm milk

Cream together butter and sugar, then add eggs, one at a time, beating to incorporate between each.
Stir in vanilla
Sift in flour and baking powder.
Turn on your mixer (if using) and pour in your milk as it mixes.  This helps prevent lumps but saves time without having to add the milk and flour alternatively in batches.  I use warm milk because you want the butter to stay nice and soft.

Mix only until combined, then put your mox evenly into 12 standard sized cupcake cases in your cupcake pan.

Bake for about 15 mins until the cupcakes bounce back when pressed.

Once cool, cut out the core and fill with M&Ms or other small lollies.  I like to use my cupcake corer because it’s one of my favourite things at the moment.

Image

Basic Buttercream

200g softened butter
4 Cups Icing Sugar
Drizzle of water
1 tsp vanilla extract

Beat all together for about 5 mins until light and fluffy.  It will always look slightly off white because of the butter, but it will lighten as you beat it.

I use a bit of water to help the icing sugar dissolve.  The more water you add, the smoother it becomes until you end up with mock cream, so feel free to experiment until you end up with a texture you like.

To decorate, I piped a swirl using a Wilton 1M tip, then sprinkles 100s & 1000s around the edge, and made a flower for the top using M&Ms.  I didn’t want to give away the surprise middle so just wanted to hint that M&Ms might be involved!

Image
Do you want to win a cupcake corerI’m giving away 3 on Facebook this weekend!

2 thoughts on “Mini M&M Pinata Cupcakes

  1. Pingback: Mini M&M Pinata Cupcakes | MOMMA'S RECIPES

Leave a Reply

