The Best (?) Chocolate Cake

bd

If you’re on Facebook you may have seen my cake this week, which was for my brothers birthday.

When I was planning his cake, I was going to do it ‘Cake Wreck’ style with his name spelled wrong as he received a misspelled cake when he was younger. Unfortuantely I tried to innocently ask him what the name was that was on the cake, and he quickly realised what I had in mind, threatening, ‘if you make me a cake with my name spelled wrong, it’s going in the bin!’

So I decided to do something else and came up with the cake above. He had been recently complaining that he missed out on a cake last year because we were still living in Taupo, so I thought it was rather fitting… and I couldn’t resist misspelling his name just for giggles (let’s face it, it’s not misspelled, it’s a whole different name!).

We’ve since decided that it wasn’t spelled like this anyway. From memory it was something like ‘Braiden’, however his name is Brandon. Have you ever had a misspelled cake, either by you or for you? Making things worse, it was from a place I used to work!

Anyway, here is the recipe for his chocolate cake. It’s similar to the chocolate cake that’s often posted on many websites as the ‘best’ chocolate cake. However I’m a hater of baking soda in chocolate cake, so if you’re like me this might be worth a try!  Everyone tends to have their favourite recipe and this is mine so far, so I’m claiming it as the best!

Chocolate Cake

2 cups all-purpose flour

2 cups sugar

¾ cup cocoa powder

3 teaspoons baking powder

1 teaspoon salt

1 teaspoon coffee

1 cup buttermilk (or milk with a teaspoon of vinegar or lemon juice, leave to stand for 10mins)

½ cup vegetable oil

3 eggs

2 teaspoons vanilla extract

1 cup warm water

Method

Add all dry ingredients into a bowl and stir together until combined.

Add buttermilk, oil, eggs, and vanilla to the dry ingredients and mix until well combined.

Pour warm water into your mixture and mix until all combined and batter is smooth.

Distribute batter between two 8”/20cm cake pans, and bake at 180C for about 30mins or until the cake springs back when touched.

Remove from the oven and allow to cool for about 10 minutes, remove from the pan and cool completely.

 

One thought on “The Best (?) Chocolate Cake

  1. Pingback: The Best (?) Chocolate Cake | MOMMA'S RECIPES

Leave a Reply

